Bavuma set to lead SA at the T20 World Series; Injured Van de Dussen ruled out

By Real11 - Sep 6 2022 174 Views


Bavuma to lead South Africa at the T20 World Series

Returning Temba Bavuma will lead the Proteas in the upcoming T20 World Series to be held in Australia and also in white ball action against India preceding the marquee multi-team event. 

Bavuma, who was sidelined from the ongoing England tour due to injury woes, is set to return at the helm of things. Meanwhile, South Africa’s ace limited overs batter Rassie Van De Dussen has been ruled out of both the tournaments due the a left index finger injury that he sustained during the second test against England at Manchester. He is expected to be out of action for at least six weeks. 

South Africa squad for T20 World Cup & T20Is vs India:

Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Travelling Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Andile Phehlukwayo.

Rilee Rossouw, Tristan Stubbs and Wayne Parnerll are the other notable names included in the SA T20 setup. Stubbs, who will play in his maiden World Series, was in sumptuous touch in T20Is against England, where he averaged close to 50 and scored runs briskly at an impressive strike rate of 215.9. Roussouw on the other hand returned to the SA setup for the T20I series in England where he averaged 65.5. 

Reeza Hendricks was selected on the back of his dream run in T20Is against England wherein he notched four consecutive fifties. So, SA now has ample top order options, with Aiden Makram, Quinton De Kock and Temba Bavuma in their ranks. In the bowling department SA possesses the services of Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje and Lungi Ngidi forming a menacing pace trio. The spin prowess will have two frontline spin bowlers Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj. 

Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Andie Phehlukwayo are the three travelling reserves named for the forthcoming tournament. Incidentally, all 18 players are available to play in the T20I series against India from September 28- 04 October. 

The CSA convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang said "This has been a really tough squad to select, simply because we had so many players in excellent form over the past few months and performing at a level that made the selectors sit up and notice them.

"Someone like Tristan Stubbs who was not in the frame a year ago has done incredibly well to force his way into the mix based on his performances and his selection should be an inspiration for every young player out there. We are also delighted to welcome back our captain Temba Bavuma from injury and we have no doubt his return will further galvanise the team.

"This group of players showed off their brilliant skill and talent when they overcame England in England recently. These sort of performances only bode well for us heading to the World Cup. Overall we are delighted with the mix of players that have been chosen and look forward to watching them represent the country in Australia," he added.

CSA have also named a 15-member squad for the three match ODI rubber against India, with three games taking place on October 6,9 and 11. Top order batter Janeman Malan and exciting all rounder  Phelukwayo have found a spot in the ODI squad.

South Africa ODI squad against India:

Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi.

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.