Temba Bavuma ruled out of the forthcoming England tour

By Real11 - Jun 29 2022 185 Views


Injury rules Temba Bavuma out of the England tour

South Africa’s white ball skipper Temba Bavuma will miss the upcoming tour of England due to an elbow injury. Temba, who sustained the injury during the recent tour of India, will need about eight weeks to recover. David Miller and Keshav Maharaj will lead the side in Bavuma’s absence in T20Is and ODIs respectively. 

CSA selectors have offered a maiden a T20I call up to 21 year old Gerald Coetzee while stylish top order batter Rilee Rossouw returns to the squad for the first time since the 2016 T20 World Series. 

Meanwhile, pace spearhead Kagiso Rabido has been rested from the ODI squad with a view to manage his workload. 

"The T20 format is a high priority for us at the moment because of the T20 World Series coming up in a few short months in Australia," CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang said. "We are looking to give opportunities to players that we are interested in seeing and working out the best combinations, while also trying to balance our desire to maintain enough consistency within the set up that the players are used to playing together as a team by the time they reach Australia for the World Series. This series will go a long way in helping us achieve all of those objectives.

"While the ODI series is not for Super League points, the 50-over format is of vital importance as we look ahead to the 2023 ICC World Series in India. The combinations tried and the performances we yielded will go a long way in our build up to that tournament."

SA’s two months tour of UK will commence with a three match Test series, the squad for which will see the return of first team regulars including Rabada, Jansen, Makram and others who missed the last assignment against Bangladesh due to a scheduling conflict with Ind T20 League 2022. The tour begins from July 19. 

ODI Squad:

Keshav Maharaj (c), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams, Khaya Zondo, Kyle Verreynne .

T20I Squad:

David Miller (c), Gerald Coetzee , Quinton de Kock , Reeza Hendricks , Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj , Aiden Markram , Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw , Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen.

Test Squad:

Dean Elgar (c), Sarel Erwee, Marco Jansen, Simon Harmer, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Duanne Olivier, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Lutho Sipamla, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Khaya Zondo, Glenton Stuurman

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.