405 players in the Indian T20 League auction, accelerated process from player number 87

By Real11 - Dec 14 2022 377 Views


405 players in the Indian T20 League auction, accelerated process from player number 87


The Indian Cricket Board has pruned the auction register of the Indian T20 League to 405 from 991 but only the first 86 players will definitely be called for auction. The remaining will be a part of the accelerated process that will start from player number 87. 

"For your planning reasons, please note, subject to timelines, it is planned that the expedited procedure would begin after player No.86," the Indian Cricket Board wrote in a communiqué to clubs on Tuesday (December 13) evening. The first expedited procedure will include all players 87 through 405. 

"Franchises will be asked to nominate a set number of players from this group. Once these players (87-405) have been presented, franchises will be requested to submit the names of players (unpresented/unsold) from all those on the full list of 405 for further accelerated process. This will be covered in more detail at the auction briefing on 22nd December 2022." 

The auction will be held in Kochi on December 23. 

The Indian Cricket Board further added "The player auction will commence with the full round of Capped players by specialism - Batsmen, All-rounders, Wicket-Keeper/Batsmen, Fast Bowlers and Spin Bowlers and then move into a full specialism round of Uncapped players."

The Indian Cricket Board is yet to officially inform the franchises about the availability of players, a determining element for the auction. With the Ashes commencing in mid-June and the World Champions, England also scheduled to play a test series against Ireland from June 1, English and Australian players are expected to miss out the business end of the tournament. 

“The availability details of the overseas players along with the update on the players who have been reported or banned for suspect bowling action will be sent in due course," the Indian Cricket Board mail says.

As many as 87 slots, with up to 30 overseas slots, can be filled during the auction, with Hyderabad (13), Kolkata (11) and Lucknow (10) having the most slots. The total purse of the 10 franchises combined is 206.5 crores which can be transacted at the auction. 

As per the curtailed list, there are now 19 players at the highest base price INR 2 Crore, which incorporates all rounders Ben Stokes, Sam Curran and Cameroon Green. There are 11 players in the INR 1.5 crore umbrella including Adam Zampa, Jason Roy and Harry Brook. INR 1.5 bracket comprises 20 players including England’s Joe Root, Indian players such as Manish Pandey and Mayank Agarwal. 

A Notable exclusion from the list of 405 players was Kedar Jadhav while Aussie speedster Nathan Coulter Nile, who was earlier in the the INR 2 crore bracket, will now feature in the INR 1.5 Crore bracket. 

Angelo Matthews, who had registered under the INR 2 Crore bracket, is not part of the mini lost. Besides Jadhav, Martin Guptill, Mark Chapman and Akeal Hossein were the other players registered under the INR 1 crore bracket absent from the short list. 

INR 75 Lakh base price category has all the overseas players. Ishant Sharma, who was formerly in this list, has now been demoted to INR 50 Lakh bracket. Reece Topley, Wayne Parnell and Ish Sodhi are among those nine players while the ones who had registered in this category but aren’t part of the short list include Beuran and Hayden Walsh, and Colin DE Grandhomme. 

Players in the INR 2 Crore bracket (19): Tom Banton, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Tymal Mills, Jamie Overton, Craig Overton, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Kane Williamson, Adam Milne, Jimmy Neesham, Rilee Rossouw, Rassie van der Dussen, Jason Holder, Nicholas Pooran.

Players in the INR 1.5 Crore bracket (11): Sean Abott, Riley Meredith, Jhye Richardson, Adam Zampa, Shakib Al Hasan, Harry Brook, Will Jacks, Dawid Malan, Jason Roy, Sherfane Rutherford, Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Players in the INR 1 Crore bracket (20): Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey, Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Moises Henriques, Andrew Tye, Joe Root, Luke Wood, Michael Bracewell, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Heinrich Klaasen, Tabraiz Shamsi, Kusal Perera, Roston Chase, Rakheem Cornwall, Shai Hope, David Wiese.

Players in the INR 75 Lakh bracket (9): Reece Topley, Wayne Parnell, Daniel Sams, Joshua Philippe, Ish Sodhi, Tom Curran, D'Arcy Short, David Payne, Carlos Brathwaite.

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.