Lanka T20 League 2024 to be played from July 1 to July 31

By Real11 - Feb 16 2024 152 Views

Lanka T20 League set to be played from July 1 to July 31

As per an SLC release the fifth edition of the Lanka T20 League will be played from July 1 to July 31 this year. This implies that the Lanka T20 League will coincide with the Major T20 League and the Hundred.  

The second season of the Major T20 League commences on July 4 and the final probably on July 28, while the Hundred will be played from July 24 to August 24. A similar overlap was seen last year as well, which meant the Lanka T20 League failed to attract overseas talent, given the financial condition. But nevertheless it has gained some traction among local fans. 

The upcoming season will once again feature five sides, as it has from its inaugural edition. 24 matches will be played in all. The teams will play one another twice in the league stage, which will comprise 20 matches. There will then be a qualifier, an eliminator followed by a second eliminator and then the final. Four of the five teams advance through the playoffs. 

Lanka T20 League has witnessed a considerable turnover in franchise ownership, with previous year’s owners an entirely different set from those that had run teams in the first edition, in 2020. 

The first three seasons were won by teams carrying the name ‘Jafa’ (Stallions in the inaugural season, Kings in season two and three), all led by Thisara Perera. B-Kandy led by Wanindu Hasaranga emerged victorious last year.  

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.