Najmul Hossain Takes the Helm: Bangladesh Sets Sail for White-Ball Glory in New Zealand

By Real11 - Nov 30 2023 251 Views

Najmul Hossain to Steer Bangladesh in New Zealand White-Ball Campaign

In a strategic move to cultivate a cross-format captaincy approach, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has entrusted Najmul Hossain with the leadership role for both the One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) during the upcoming tour of New Zealand. The decision comes amid the return of Litton Das to both series, with all-rounder Mehidy Hasan Miraz appointed as the deputy to Najmul in both formats.

BCB's Chief Selector, Minhajul Abedin, expressed confidence in Najmul's leadership abilities, citing his impressive stint leading the side in the recent One-Day Internationals and the ongoing Test match against New Zealand. Abedin stated, "We are trying to have a new cross-format captain, and that is the reason we have appointed Najmul to lead in both ODIs and T20s against New Zealand."

The ODI squad maintains continuity with 11 members from the recently-concluded World Cup squad, with Afif Hossain and Soumya Sarkar making their return to the ODI fold. Leg spinner Rishad Hossain and left-arm spinner Rakibul Hasan received maiden calls in the 50-over format. Explaining the selections, Abedin noted, "We picked Soumya and Afif for their experience playing in New Zealand, while Rishad and Rakibul have been under our radar for a long time."

Notably, regular skipper Shakib Al Hasan will be absent from the tour due to his national election engagement, alongside Mahmudullah and Taskin Ahmed, who are sidelined due to respective injuries. The exclusion of Mahedi Hasan and Nasum Ahmed from the squad was attributed to their performance in the recently concluded ODI World Cup.

In the T20I squad, Soumya makes a return after the last year's T20 World Cup in Australia, joined by Tanvir Islam and Tanzim Hasan Sakib. Surprisingly, Nasum, who featured in both T20Is against Afghanistan in July, was left out from the 15-member T20I side.

The ODIs are scheduled for December 17, 20, and 23, while the T20Is will take place on December 27, 29, and 31. With an intriguing mix of experienced players and promising talents, Bangladesh aims to make a mark in the challenging conditions of New Zealand under the captaincy of Najmul Hossain.

Bangladesh squad (ODI Series): Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (vice-capt), Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain and Rakibul Hasan

Bangladesh squad (T20I Series): Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), Liton Das, Rony Talukdar, Tawhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz (vice-capt), Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud, Rishad Hossain, Tanvir Islam and Tanzim Hasan Sakib

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.