New Zealand name 15 man provisional squad for T20 World Cup 2024

By Real11 - Apr 29 2024 100 Views

Devon Conway included in NZ's 15 man provisional squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Devon Conway has been named in New Zealand’s 15 man provisional squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. Kane Williamson will lead the experienced lot while Ben Sears has been named the travelling reserve.

The squad also comprises veterans Trent Boult and Tim Southee. Rachin Ravindra and Matt Henry are the only squad members who have no prior T20 World Cup experience.

Conway, who was recently ruled out of the Ind T20 League due to a thumb injury he picked in February, has been included in the squad. Meanwhile, Williamson returns at the helm after missing NZ’s last two T20I series- the home series against the Kangaroos because of the birth of his third child and the Pakistan tour due to Ind T20 League duties. 

Speedster Adam Milne was ruled out after a recent ankle surgery saw him miss the Pakistan tour. Kyle Jamieson is also unavailable as he still recovers from the stress fracture he suffered in his lower back

Allen has successfully recovered from the back injury that kept him out of action for the just concluded tour of Pakistan. Miceal Bracewell, James Neesham, Ish Sodhi and Mark Chapman are the only players who went on that tour and have also made the cut for the showpiece event. 

The Blackcaps coach Gary Stead believes the Kiwis have all the bases covered. 

We expect the venues in the West Indies to offer quite varied conditions and feel we've selected a squad with the scope to adapt to those conditions," Stead said.

"Matt has worked exceptionally hard on his skills across the phases of a T20 game to come back into selection consideration.

"Rachin has made every post a winner in the past 12 months and it was exciting to see him continue that trajectory over the summer in the T20 format against Australia."

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ben Sears (travelling reserve)

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.