Blogs

Phillips' Daring Saliva Technique Ignites Controversy in Sylhet Test Arena

By Real11 - Nov 30 2023 179 Views
Share


                      Glenn Phillips Faces Scrutiny for Saliva Application During Sylhet Test

In a surprising turn of events at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, New Zealand cricketer Glenn Phillips finds himself under scrutiny after being caught applying saliva to the ball during the third day's play. The incident, occurring in the 34th over of the innings, has raised eyebrows and triggered discussions on the evolving rules governing ball tampering.

Under the amended Law 41.3, effective from October 1, 2022, teams are now penalised five runs for the use of saliva on the ball. This alteration in playing conditions came into effect after the resumption of cricket post the Covid-19 hiatus. The updated laws aimed to discourage the traditional method of ball shining through saliva, replacing it with the use of sweat, which has proven to be equally effective.

MCC's research, cited in the law, indicated that the ban on saliva had little to no impact on bowlers' ability to generate swing. The new regulations eliminate any ambiguity related to fielders altering their saliva through sugary sweets, treating the use of saliva on the ball as any other unfair means of altering its condition.

Upon being questioned about Phillips' actions, Bangladesh team manager Nafees Iqbal and captain Mominul Haque confirmed their awareness of the incident. However, on-field umpires Ahsan Raza and Paul Reiffel did not intervene or take any immediate action during the game.

Notably, this is not the first instance of a team incurring penalty runs for saliva application. In a recent ODI match in November 2022, Nepal was awarded five penalty runs when Alishan Sharafu used saliva against UAE.

As the cricketing community grapples with the implications of Phillips' actions, the focus remains on the ongoing Test, where Bangladesh has asserted control by extending their lead beyond the 200-run mark by the end of the third day's play. With seven wickets still in hand, Bangladesh is poised to further consolidate their position in the match.

New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson, when questioned about the incident, claimed ignorance, stating, "The first I heard of it was about 35 seconds ago. So, yeah, I have no idea what happened, or when it was, or what was seen." Jamieson's comments add an intriguing layer to the controversy, leaving fans and experts eager to review the footage and understand the implications of Phillips' actions.

As the cricketing world awaits further developments, this incident serves as a reminder of the sport's constant evolution and the need for players to stay abreast of the latest rule changes to avoid unforeseen consequences on the field. 

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.