Prithvi Shaw got a Call-up for NZ T20Is: See Full Squads here

By Real11 - Jan 14 2023 305 Views


Prithvi Shaw benefited from domestic performance, got a Call-up for NZ T20Is


The Indian T20I team has selected Prithvi Shaw for the upcoming home series against New Zealand. Shaw has been in fantastic form on the domestic circuit and recently scored 379 runs in a Ranji match. In addition, Shaw was one of the top run scorers in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Cup this year.

Earlier, Shaw thanked Board President Jay Shah for praising his record performance in Ranji Championship. He tweeted, "Thank you so much @JayShah sir. Your words of encouragement means a lot. Will keep working hard."

According to sources, the 23-year-old was upset with the Cricket Board after being left out of the selections for both the current bilateral series against Sri Lanka and the December 2022 India trip to Bangladesh.

As long as Hardik Pandya controls the T20 setup, the senior tandem of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma are still excluded. Sanju Samson, who suffered an injury during the first T20I against Sri Lanka, is still out of commission, but Jitesh Sharma has been able to keep his position. Harshal Patel was not included in the team that played Sri Lanka.

KL Rahul and Axar Patel's inability to play in the ODIs and T20Is owing to family obligations was verified by the selectors. Consequently, Kuldeep Yadav is selected for the T20I squad, while KS Bharat and Shahbaz Ahmed are picked for the ODI team. Pacer Arshdeep Singh has been replaced in the ODI team by Shardul Thakur, who was inactive against Sri Lanka.

Here below are announced squads for ODIs and T20s against New Zealand:


ODI Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik.


T20I Squad: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar.


- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.