Rahane finds his place in Test Championship final squad, SKY dropped

By Real11 - Apr 25 2023 476 Views


Team India announced the WTC final squad against Australia

34-year-old Ajinkya Rahane, who has been out of the team for a long time, has finally got the result of his hard work. Rahane who had a lean patch and was dropped from the BGT test series against Australia, but he first performed brilliantly in first-class cricket and now after that, he is scoring runs in the ongoing IND T20 League just for fun, smashing the bowlers all over the park.  Given this, the Indian Cricket Board has added Rahane to the squad ahead of the Test Championship final that will take place between India and Australia on June 07.

The Right-handed batter Rahane has got a chance in the team in place of Surya Kumar Yadav. He has been included in the team considering SKY's flop batting in the longest format of the game. Rahane last played a Test match for Team India in January last year and since then he had to sit out due to his poor form. The Indian cricket senior selection committee had a meeting on Monday evening and after long deliberation, the board decided to hand Rahane a recall as Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant and Rajat Patidar are out with injuries.

Rahane, 34, is currently one of the senior players of Team India and has played 82 matches in his Test career. He has scored 4,931 runs at an average of 38.52 and has scored 12 centuries. Talking about ODIs, Rahane played 90 matches in this format and scored 2,962 runs at an average of 35. He has three centuries and 24 half-centuries in ODIs.

In the 5 IND T20 League innings, he has collected 209 runs with an average of 52.25 but what stands out is his strike rate which is touching almost 200, he is striking the ball with a 199.04 strike rate which is quite astonishing in terms of the way Rahane has played cricket so far. He also has scored two fifties for Chennai in the current IND T20 League edition. His highest score is an unbeaten 71.


India’s Test squad WTC final vs Australia: 

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Shami, Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.