Smith left out of Australia's World Cup T20 2024 Squad

By Real11 - May 1 2024 93 Views

Australia name 15 man World Cup Squad

After shouldering the leadership duties on an interim basis for the previous year, Mitchell Marsh has officially been appointed as Australia’s skipper for the T20 World Cup 204. 

The 15 man squad features Ashton Agar and Cameron Green, both of whom haven’t made an appearance in the shortest format for the men in yellow since late 2022. 

Steve Smith, who played for the Australian side that took the field against New Zealand as late as February 2024, was not included in the WC squad. It’s the first time the Kangaroos will be without him since the World Cup since 2014. 

Squad: Mitch Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

"It's been an immense privilege to play for my country and now an even greater honour to lead the squad to a World Cup," said Marsh. "We have had some strong success in recent times and I am hopeful that will continue in what looks like a wide-open tournament."

Agar has been roped in keeping the slow conditions that could be on offer in the Caribbean."It's great to have Ashton Agar back into the squad following a spate of unfortunate and untimely injuries," selection chief George Bailey said.

"We believe Ashton can play a critical role in this tournament along with Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Cam Green and Mitch Marsh in complementing our front-line attack options."

Adam Zampa is the only frontline spin bowler in the squad. Although they do have spin alternatives in the form of Glenn Maxwell and Agar. 

Green makes it to the squad ahead of the promising Jake Fraser McGurk, who has taken the Ind T20 League by storm with his range hitting and attacking approach at the top of the order for Delhi. But Green offers more stability and versatility to the squad given he can also chip in with valuable wickets in the middle overs.  

Josh Inglis and Matthew Wade are the two wicket keepers in the squad whereas the pace troika of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood will be accompanied by death over specialist Nathan Ellis. 

Besides Smith, Aaron Hardie, Matthew Short, Xavier Bartlett and Spencer Johnson were the other players who were on the selection fray but were left out. 

Being constrained to a squad of 15 for World Cups is always a challenge given the different scenarios and options we'd like to cover," Bailey said. "We will continue monitoring several players who have missed out on this preliminary squad and note that if we wish to change this squad, we have the option to do so over the coming weeks in accordance with ICC regulations."

Australia begin their World Cup campaign against Oman in Barbados on June 6. 

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.