Warner and Mitchell Marsh added to Australia squad for test Championship Final

By Real11 - Apr 19 2023 418 Views


Australia announce squad for Test Championship final against India

The number one test side in the World Australia has announced its team for the final of the Test Championship that will take place in June. The same Australian team will also play the first match of the Ashes series against England. India will face Australia in the final of the Test Championship and this match will be played at The Oval Ground, England from June 7.

India will play the final match for the second time in a row. Team India was defeated by New Zealand in the final of the 2019-21 edition. As per Apex cricket body rules, the top two teams in the standings advance to the finals. In the points table of the Test Championship, the Australian team stood first and the Indian team stood second.

The left-handed batter Warner has also been included in Australia's 17-member squad. The veteran batter has retained his place in the team despite a recent slump in form, with Matthew Renshaw having a stellar performance for Australia A in NZ and earning a place in the squad. The wicketkeeper Alex Carey has managed to find a place. Todd Murphy, who did well on the India tour, is also a part of the team.

Kangaroos decided to bring back three players, sacrificing their spinners from the India series. The all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, who is back to full fitness since his ankle surgery found his place in the squad. Marsh last played Test cricket during the 2019 Ashes but has been in scintillating form since his return, with Josh Inglis and Marcus Harris making it to the 17-member team for Test Championship final.

Apart from 33-year-old all-rounder Michael Neser, spin bowlers Matthew Kuhnemann, and Mitchell Swepson and batters Peter Handscomb, and Cameron Bancroft failed to make it to the squad. Fast bowlers Lance Morris and Jhye Richardson were unavailable for selection due to injury. Morris suffered a back injury following the recent Border-Gavaskar Trophy in India, while Richardson is recovering from hamstring surgery.

Australia qualified for the final after 18 months of dominance in the longest form of cricket and they will face India. The 15-member Indian team for this epic final will be announced on May 28.


Australia's squad for the Test Championship final

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.