IND wins the BGT test series by 2-1 ; set to face AUS in WC Final

By Real11 - Mar 13 2023 270 Views


IND wins the BGT test series by 2-1 and qualifies for the final of the WC

The fourth and last Test match of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy between Australia and India ended in a draw on Monday, March 13, 2023, at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. With this, the Hosts India won the four-match Test series 2-1. Now, both sides will clash in the final of the Test Championship on June 7-11.  

The Indian team has won the Border-Gavaskar Trophy for the fourth time in a row. Earlier, the Indian team had defeated Australia at home in 2017, apart from the home series in 2018-19 and 2020-21. Even before the end of this match, India had made it to the final of the Test Championship for the second time in a row. India's ticket to the final of the Championship was confirmed with New Zealand's thrilling two-wicket win over Sri Lanka in Christchurch courtesy of Kane Williamson's unbeaten 121.

However, the Australian attack of Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, skipper Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon on the England pitch in early June could pose a lot of trouble for the Indian batter in the swing conditions. The bowlers did not get any help from the pitch even on the last day of the Ahmedabad Test match. Australia, trailing by 91 runs in the first innings, scored 175 runs for two wickets in 78.1 overs in their second innings. The world's number one batter Marnus Labuschagne was batting on 63 and the skipper of the side Steve Smith on 10 when both the captains agreed to end the match. 

India had won both the opening matches of the series, while Australia made a comeback by winning the Indore Test. In this match, Australia won the toss and decided to bat. The Visitors posted 480 runs in the first innings. In response to this, the Indian team scored 571 runs in the first innings based on the century innings of Shubman Gill and Virat Kohli and took a lead of 91 runs where Kohli scored his waited 28th test century by playing memorable innings of 186 off 364 balls that included 15 fours.

MOS: Jadeja and Ashwin

MOM: Virat Kohli

Most Runs: Usman Khawaja - 336

Most Wickets - Ravichandran Ashwin - 25 

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.