Roger Binny to succeed Sourav Ganguly as the new Indian Cricket Board Chief

By Real11 - Oct 11 2022 314 Views


Roger Binny likely to be the Indian Cricket Board President

World Cup-winning all-rounder Roger Binny is likely to succeed Sourav Ganguly as the new Indian Cricket Board Chief. Meanwhile, Jay Shah is set to retain his designation as the secretary of the board. The decisions were made in an internal meeting held by the Indian Cricket Board in Mumbai on Monday, October 10, 2022, in a lead-up to the electoral procedure.  

Roger Binny who was a part of the 1983 World Series triumph team led by Kapil Dev is very likely to file his nomination for the post of the Indian Cricket Board Chief on Tuesday, October 11. Also, other candidates who are contesting for the Indian Cricket Board office bearers’ post can file their nominations on Tuesday and Wednesday. 

It has also surfaced that senior administrator Rajeev Shukla will retain his post as the vice president of the board and Ashish Selar is most likely to replace Arun Singh Dhumal as the new treasurer. 

Roger Binny has previously served as the senior national men’s team selector. Binny was a part of the selection committee when the squad for the 2015 World Series was decided. 

Primarily, Binny’s name appeared on the electoral list earlier this month. He was also the representative of the Kerala Cricket Association for the Indian Cricket Board AGM.

Roger Binny in his lustrous cricket career played an intrinsic role in India's maiden World Series victory in 1983. He played 27 Tests and 72 ODIs for India between the years 1979 and 1987.

Meanwhile, Sourav Ganguly's future remains to be a question with a chance of him being nominated by the International Cricket Board. The former India skipper was elected as the president of the Indian Cricket Board with a complete agreement in 2019. Jay Shah was also selected as the secretary in October 2019. The duo handled the biggest cricket board in the World as soon as the Supreme Court-appointed Administration Board stepped down and till then has also been a part of many controversial decisions. Both Ganguly and Shah, hand in hand have gone through a difficult period of administration, operating regular affairs and creating the blueprint for major tournaments, including the Indian T20 League, during the Covid-19 pandemic session.

Also, Arun Singh Dhumal will possibly be the next chairman of the Indian T20 League. Another change that is expected is that of Asish Shelar, the BJP henchman from Mumbai, who will be among the office bearers. Shelar is likely to file a nomination for the post of Treasurer which is vacated by Dhumal. Rajeev Shukla who was expected as the League chief shall continue as the vice president. Devajit Saikia of the Assam Cricket Association is set to be the new joint secretary replacing Jayesh George of Kerala. 

A change in roles was expected in the Indian T20 League Governing Council because Brijesh Patel will be 70 years this November and thus no longer eligible for that position for age cap restriction according to the Indian Cricket Board. The vacancy in that seat has led to a lot of strings being pulled with Shukla being the most potential for that role.

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.