SA Cricket Board confirms a clean sweep of their T20 League ownership

By Real11 - Jul 20 2022 316 Views


SA Cricket Board confirms a clean sweep of their T20 League ownership by Indian franchises 

The South Africa Cricket Board announced the six franchises for the forthcoming South Africa T20 League on Wednesday, July 20. The Indian T20 League franchises were in the race for owning the six teams in the South African tournament. 

Venue, City

Successful Bidder

Newlands, Cape Town

Reliance Industries Limited, owners of Mumbai Indians

Wanderers, Johannesburg

Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited, owners of Chennai Super Kings

Boland Park, Paarl

Royals Sports Group, owners of Rajasthan Royals

St George's Park, Gqeberha

Sun TV Network Limited, owners of Sunrisers Hyderabad

SuperSport Park, Pretoria

JSW Sports, co-owners of Delhi Capitals

Kingsmead, Durban

RPSG Sports Private Limited, owners of Lucknow SuperGiants


Graeme Smith, the recently appointed chief of the league, expressed his thoughts about the event, "We are delighted to welcome our new franchise owners to the South African T20 League which is going to be inaugurated in January 2023. This is truly an amazing time for the South African cricket fraternity; the profusing interest shows that the country still is one of the most valued boards in the global cricketing eco-system."

"The strong sports background of the corresponding proprietors and the global brands they control makes it certain that South African cricket and the expanding industry will benefit from their expertise and resources, as they bring solidity and experience to the League," Smith added. Earlier the Proteas opted out of playing the ODI leg of their Australia tour next January, in order to assimilate the inaugural season of their own country’s T20 league.

- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.