Teams announced new signings and retentions ahead of Caribbean T20 League

By Real11 - Apr 5 2022 448 Views


Trinbago signs Russell and Pooran ahead of Caribbean T20 League

The Trinbago franchise in the Caribbean T20 League made some big moves on Monday as the team has now acquired the services of T20 giant Andre Russell and has also signed talented young West Indian Nicolas Pooran. Kieron Pollard will continue as the captain of the ship and Sunil Narine will as well continue with the franchise. The four-times champion has built a strong core of domestic players and have managed to keep the likes of Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales and Tion Webster in the squad. The team will have a lot of leaders in the squad and it will be really interesting to see whether Kieron Pollard passes his captaincy baton to Nicolas Pooran. Pooran captained the Guyana side last year and helped the team reach the semis of the competition. However, the focus at the moment is on Kieron Pollard and Andre Russell. The duo is yet to play together in a T20 match and everyone knows what will happen if they both perform at their highest quality. In short, Trinbago looks like a really great T20 team with some spots to fill.

The defending champions St Kitts and Nevis have signed former Trinbago player Darren Bravo and got their hands on Andre Fletcher. The Bravo brothers will reunite after a long time as Dwayne is the captain of the side. The team has also retained Evin Lewis, Sherfane Rutherford, Dominic Drakes and Sheldon Cottrell.

Among other top signings in the league, Fabian Allen and Brendon King will represent Jamaica in the upcoming season. Obed McCoy has changed his team and will be playing for Barbados. When it comes to all the retention, Barbados has retained their captain Jason Holder and also retained Kyle Mayers and Haydon Walsh. Rovman Powell has been retained by Jamaica while Roston Chase, Alzaari Joseph and Kesrick Williams have been retained by St. Lucia. When it comes to Guyana, the team has retained Shimron Hetmyer, Odean Smith and Romario Shepherd.

Pre-draft retentions and signings

Trinbago: Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nicholas Pooran, Akeal Hosein, Jayden Seales, Tion Webster

Saint Lucia: Roston Chase, Johnson Charles, Kesrick Williams, Alzarri Joseph, Mark Deyal, Jeavor Royal

Jamaica: Rovman Powell, Fabian Allen, Brandon King, Kennar Lewis, Shamarh Brooks

St Kitts & Nevis: DJ Bravo, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Sherfane Rutherford, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes

Barbados: Jason Holder, Obed McCoy, Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh Jr, Devon Thomas, Oshane Thomas, Nayeem Young

Guyana: Shimron Hetmyer, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Keemo Paul, Gudakesh Motie


- Advertisement -

This game involves an element of financial risk and may be addictive. Please play responsibly at your own risk.
This game is applicable for people 18+ only.